Last summer, Baltimore City Recreation and Parks endeavored to celebrate community and culture through FREE family-friendly programming throughout city parks. 60 free events drew more than 30,000 people.

This summer? They are more than doubling that goal. 140 events. 32 city locations. All FREE. 

While we’re seeing ‘back to school’ signs popping up every where, BCRP’s (cool) Rhythms and Reels series is going strong, with programs scheduled through October. What makes these events perfect for families? Picnic baskets and coolers are welcome (no glass bottles or containers), pets are welcome as long as they are on leashes, and all of the movie events come with complimentary popcorn! Movies start at dusk and many have pre-show fun planned.

We’ve rounded-up the kid-friendly events in one place below, but you can check out the full line-up here. All of these events are subject to change, so be sure to check the Baltimore City Rec and Parks Facebook page for event updates. Joining them for a concert or movie? Post your selfies and hashtag #RhythmsAndReels!

Family Friendly Baltimore Concerts

Lyric Opera at West Square
Wed, Aug 9  | 7:00–8:30 PM
Mount Vernon Place

Lady Hatchet @ Carroll Park
Thu, Aug 10 | 5:30–7:00 pm
1500 Washington Blvd.

Cold Spring Jazz Quartet @ Middle Branch Park
Thu, Aug 10 | 6:30–8:30 pm
3301 Waterview Ave.

The New Romance @ West Shore Park 
Waterfront Partnership Summer Social
Fri, Aug 11 | 5:00–8:00 pm
501 Light St.

High and Wides @ Riverside Park
Sun, Aug 13 | 5:00–8:00 pm
301 E. Randall St. Riverside Concert Series

The Belleveders @ Pagoda Hill, Patterson Park
Friends of Patterson Park Concerts
Sun, Aug 13 | 6:30–8:30 pm
27 S. Patterson Park Ave

Peabody Institute Harpist @ West Square
Wed, Aug 16 | 7:00–8:30 pm
699 Washington Pl.

Trinidad & Tobago Baltimore Steel Orchestra @ Druid Hill Park
Wed, Aug 16 | 5:30–7:30 pm
3100 Swann Dr.

Panama Band @ Druid Hill Park
Thu, Aug 17 6:30–8:30 pm
3001 East Dr.

BSO Orch Kids & Moana @ Carroll Park
Thu, Aug 17 | Dusk
1500 Washington Blvd.

Symphony Number One @ West Square
Wed, Aug 23 | 7:00–8:30 pm
699 Washington Pl.

Tari Lagru @ Carroll Park
Thu, Aug 24 | 5:30–7:00 pm
1500 Washington Blvd.

Jan Knutson featuring Cassandra Allen @ Gwynns Falls/Leakin Park
Thu, Aug 24 | 6:30–8:30 pm
4921 Windsor Mill Rd.

Major & The Monbacks @ Union Square Park
Sun, Aug 27 | 5:00–7:00 pm
31 S. Gilmore St.

Definite Friends @ Druid Hill Park
Wed, Sept 6 | 5:30–7:30 pm
3100 Swann Dr.

Trinidad & Tobago Steel Drum Band @ Carroll Park
Thu, Sept 7 | 5:30–7:00 pm
1500 Washington Blvd.

Soul Island Rebels @ Riverside Park
Sept 10 | 5:00–7:30 pm S
301 E. Randall St.

Baltimore Jazz Fest @ Druid Hill Park
Sat, Sept 16 | TBD
3100 Swann Dr.

Trinidad & Tobago Baltimore Steel Orchestra @ Druid Hill Park
Wed, Sept 20| 5:30–7:30 pm
3100 Swann Dr.

Lady Hatchet @ Carroll Park
Thu, Sept 21 | 5:30–7:00 pm
 1500 Washington Blvd

The Village Idiots @ Union Square Park
Sun, Sept 24 | 5:00–7:00 pm T
31 S. Gilmore St.

Slagz @ Druid Hill Park
Wed, Sept 27 | 5:30–7:30 pm S
3100 Swann Dr.

Nico Sarbanes Quartet @ Carroll Park
Thu, Oct 5 | 5:30–7:00 pm
1500 Washington Blvd.

StewBone @ Union Square Park
Sun, Oct 29 | 5:00–7:00 pm StewBone Union Square Park
31 S. Gilmore St

Family Friendly Baltimore Movies

Trolls  @ Oliver Recreation Center
Friday, August 4 | *Pre-Show 5:30; Movie at Dusk
1600 N. Spring St.

Zootopia @ ABC Park
Sat, Aug 5 | Dusk
2311 Ashton Ave.

Jumanji @ Lakeland Park
Wed, Aug 9 | Dusk
2761 Wegworth Ln.

Finding Dory @ Mary E. Rodman Recreation Center
Fri, Aug 11 | *Pre-Show 5:30; Movie at Dusk
3600 W. Mulberry St.

Creed (PG-13) @ Pennsylvania Triangle Park
Sat, Aug 12 | Dusk
1901 Pennsylvania Ave.

Secret Life of Pets @ Druid Hill Park
Wed, Aug 16 | *Pre-Show 5:30; Movie at Dusk
3100 Swann Dr.

BSO Orch Kids & Moana @ Carroll Park
Thu, Aug 17 | Dusk
1500 Washington Blvd.

Frozen @ Madison Recreation Center
Fri, Aug 18 | *Pre-Show 5:30; Movie at Dusk
1400 E. Biddle St.

Moana @ Conway Park
Wed, Aug 23 | Dusk Moana
601 W. Conway St.

Moana @ Ella Bailey Recreation Center
Fri, Aug 25 | *Pre-Show 5:30; Movie at Dusk Moana
100 E. Heath St.

Arrival (2016) (PG-13) @ West Square
Wed, Aug 30 | Dusk 
 699 Washington Pl. 

 

Image courtesy of WTMD website and their First Thursday Concert Series at Canton Waterfront Park, part of the BCRP Rhythms and Reels series.

 

About Our Sponsor: Baltimore City Recreation and Parks

Baltimore City Recreation and Parks is the city’s leading provider of affordable, year-round leisure and recreational activities for citizens of all ages and abilities. Beautiful parks, trails and waterways provide the perfect urban oasis.